Showcasing the Arts
Kentucky Writers Day and Poet Laureate Induction banner, red letters, subtle serif typeface, overlayed on a handwritten manuscript in ink on lined paper

Kentucky Writers’ Day
and the induction of
2021-2022 Kentucky Poet Laureate
Crystal Wilkinson

Friday, April 23, 2021
10 a.m. Eastern
Kentucky Arts Council Facebook page
Free and open to the public

Featuring readings by Crystal Wilkinson
and former Kentucky Poets Laureate
Richard Taylor, 1999-2000
Joe Survant, 2003-2004
Sena Jeter Naslund, 2005-2006
Maureen Morehead, 2011-2012
Frank X Walker, 2013-2014
George Ella Lyon, 2015-2016
Frederick Smock, 2017-2018

Kentucky Writers’ Day was established by the Kentucky General Assembly in 1990 to honor Kentucky’s strong literary tradition and to celebrate the anniversary of the birth of Todd County’s Robert Penn Warren, the first poet laureate of the United States and recipient of three Pulitzer Prizes.

Friday, April 23, 6:00 p.m. Eastern
Kentucky Poets Laureate Reading (Virtual)

Continue your celebration of Kentucky Writers' Day with the Paul Sawyier Public Library’s virtual reading by Kentucky Poets Laureate, past and present. No registration necessary. Join this live virtual event on the PSPL Facebook page at 6:00 p.m.
For more information, contact Diane Dehoney at

Report a broken link.